SuperMoney: Budgeting AI

Financial calm, Finally.

Get

Apps Like Dave: 12 Cash Advance Apps Compared (2026)

Andrew Latham avatar image
Last updated 09/27/2026 by

Andrew Latham

Summary:
Dave’s ExtraCash advances cost at least $5 each, plus a monthly membership. If you want a bigger limit or lower fees, EarnIn, MoneyLion and Chime MyPay are the closest alternatives. Below we compare 12 apps like Dave on advance limits, monthly fees, instant-transfer costs and requirements.
The best apps like Dave in 2026 are EarnIn (best for higher limits with no subscription), MoneyLion Instacash (best for up to $1,000 if you bank with MoneyLion) and Chime MyPay (best if you already get paid into Chime). People usually leave Dave over cost. Every ExtraCash advance carries a fee of $5 or 5%, whichever is greater, on top of a membership. Dave also doesn’t work with Cash App and requires a Dave Checking account.

Get a Cash Advance In Minutes

Compare offers from multiple providers and access your funds fast.
Check Your Offers
It's quick, free and won’t hurt your credit score

Dave at a glance

What it isA mobile banking app (Dave Checking, via Evolve Bank & Trust) with a cash advance feature called ExtraCash
Advance amount$25 to $500. Dave says few members qualify for the maximum; the average ExtraCash advance was $215 in Q2 2026
Monthly membershipUp to $5. Dave raised the fee from $1 to $3 for new members in June 2025
Advance feeThe greater of $5 or 5% of the advance
Transfer speed and costFree and instant to Dave Checking; 1.5% to an external debit card (within an hour); free by ACH in about 3 business days
Credit checkNo. Dave underwrites from your bank data
RequirementsDave Checking and ExtraCash accounts, recurring deposits, no outstanding advance. Cash App, PayPal and most prepaid cards aren’t supported

Is Dave legit?

Yes. Dave Inc. is a publicly traded company, and it discloses its fees and legal proceedings in its SEC filings. It is also in an active legal fight. The FTC sued Dave in November 2024 over how it marketed advance amounts and fees. The Justice Department filed an amended complaint in December 2024 that names CEO Jason Wilk. A federal judge denied Dave’s motion to dismiss in September 2025, and the case was still pending as of Dave’s mid-2026 quarterly report. Dave has since replaced optional tips and express fees with a flat 5% (minimum $5) advance fee. Either way, read the fee screen before you accept an advance.

12 best apps like Dave in 2026

1. EarnIn – Best for higher limits with no subscription

How it works: EarnIn lets you draw on wages you’ve already earned: up to $150 a day and $1,000 per pay period (up to $1,500 with Live Pay). There’s no subscription and tips are optional. Standard transfers take 1–2 business days. Instant transfers cost $3.99 - $8.99 depending on the amount. Compared with Dave, you can often get more money with no required fee.
✅ Pros:
  • Highest per-period limit on this list
  • No monthly membership; standard transfers are free
  • No credit check
❌ Cons:
  • Needs a consistent direct-deposit pay schedule
  • Doesn’t support many neobanks (Chime only for a small test group)
  • Colorado’s attorney general sued EarnIn in August 2026 under state lending laws

2. MoneyLion Instacash – Best for up to $1,000 with MoneyLion banking

How it works: Instacash advances go up to $500, or $1,000 if you open a MoneyLion Spend account and set up direct deposit. There’s no required membership. Turbo (instant) delivery costs $0.49–$6.99 to a MoneyLion account or $1.99–$8.99 to an external account. Standard delivery is 1–2 days to Spend and 2–5 days to an outside bank.
✅ Pros:
  • Up to double Dave’s maximum
  • No subscription required for Instacash
  • Low turbo fees on small advances
❌ Cons:
  • The top limit requires moving your direct deposit to MoneyLion
  • Paid memberships (e.g., Credit Builder Plus at $19.99/month) are upsold in the app
  • Resolved a CFPB case over alleged Military Lending Act violations in 2025

3. Chime MyPay – Best if you’re paid into Chime

How it works: Chime members with qualifying direct deposits of $200 or more can get up to $1,000 of their pay early through MyPay. Most people start at $40–$100. There’s no subscription. Instant delivery costs $2 - $5, and free delivery arrives within 24 hours. Chime’s SpotMe also covers overdrafts of $20 up to $200 with no fee.
✅ Pros:
  • No monthly fee and no credit check
  • Free option lands within 24 hours
  • SpotMe adds free overdraft coverage
❌ Cons:
  • Only for Chime members with qualifying direct deposit
  • MyPay isn’t available in every state

4. Varo Advance – Best for larger advances with no subscription

How it works: Varo Advance starts at $20–$250 and can grow to $700, with 30 days to repay. There’s no monthly fee; instead each advance has a flat fee of $1.60 - $100, and that fee is more than halved if you get $800+ a month in deposits. Funds arrive instantly in your Varo account.
✅ Pros:
  • Top limit is higher than Dave’s
  • 30-day repayment instead of “next payday”
  • No subscription
❌ Cons:
  • Requires a Varo bank account
  • Fees on large advances can be high; check the fee before accepting

5. Current Paycheck Advance – Best for up to $750 with no membership

How it works: Current offers Paycheck Advance of up to $750 to members with $200+ a month in eligible payroll deposits. Transfers from Cash App or other P2P apps don’t count. Standard funding arrives within 3 calendar days, and an optional “Instant Access” fee is shown in the app before you accept. Current also has fee-free overdraft coverage.
✅ Pros:
  • Higher maximum than Dave
  • No membership fee stated
  • No credit check
❌ Cons:
  • You need to route payroll to Current
  • Instant-access pricing isn’t published outside the app

6. Klover – Best for no-credit-check advances up to $750

How it works: Klover advances range from $25 to $750 (the average is about $170). You need three or more employer direct deposits in the past 60 days to a checking account that’s at least 90 days old, and P2P deposits such as Cash App don’t count. Standard ACH takes about 3 business days. Immediate delivery costs $3.99 - $37.49. Klover+ (up to $9.99/month) is optional, but new users can be enrolled automatically, so check your settings.
✅ Pros:
  • No hard credit pull
  • Free standard delivery
  • Higher ceiling than Dave
❌ Cons:
  • Instant fees on larger advances are steep
  • Watch for automatic Klover+ enrollment

7. Cleo – Best for small advances plus AI budgeting

How it works: Cleo pairs a budgeting chatbot with advances of $20–$250, rising to $500 if you send $750+ a month in direct deposits to Cleo. Advances require a paid plan, which costs $1.99 - $14.99 a month depending on the tier. Express delivery costs $4.49 - $14.99, added to what you repay. Standard delivery takes 3–4 days.
✅ Pros:
  • Useful budgeting and spending insights
  • Entry plan can cost less than Dave’s membership
❌ Cons:
  • Low starting limits
  • Agreed to a $17 million FTC settlement over its advance and subscription practices (March 2025)

8. Brigit – Best for overdraft alerts and credit-building tools

How it works: Brigit advances range from $25 to $500 ($25–$250 in Maine) and require a paid plan: Plus at $8.99 or Premium at $15.99 a month. Premium includes free instant transfers; on Plus, Brigit charges a small instant fee shown in the app. You’ll need a checking account that’s at least 60 days old, a positive balance and three recurring deposits from one source.
✅ Pros:
  • Same maximum as Dave, with no per-advance fee
  • Overdraft prediction and credit-builder features
❌ Cons:
  • The subscription is pricier than Dave’s
  • Subject to an $18 million FTC order in 2023 over its marketing and cancellation practices

9. Tilt (formerly Empower) – Best for a simple flat subscription

How it works: Empower rebranded as Tilt in 2025. Advances run $10–$500 and require a subscription ($8/month) after a 14-day trial. Instant delivery costs $1 - $8 by tier (3% on $300+, capped at $7.50 in MD and WI). Standard delivery takes about one business day. Tilt isn’t available in CT, ME or DC.
✅ Pros:
  • No per-advance fee beyond optional instant delivery
  • No credit check; linked-bank model (no new account)
❌ Cons:
  • The subscription is required
  • Not available in three states/territories

10. Albert – Best for the highest instant limit

How it works: Albert’s Instant feature advances $25 to $1,000 into an Albert Cash account. A paid Albert plan isn’t required for Instant. Each draw carries a fee, which Albert shows before you accept. To qualify, you need an Albert Cash account with Smart Money set to “Automatic.”
✅ Pros:
  • Up to twice Dave’s limit
  • No membership required for Instant
❌ Cons:
  • Requires moving money into Albert Cash
  • Per-draw fees aren’t published clearly

11. Branch – Best for hourly workers whose employer uses it

How it works: If your employer offers Branch, you can advance up to 50% of earned wages (up to $1,000 per pay period, $500 per request) into a Branch wallet instantly. There’s no subscription. Moving money out costs $2.99 - $4.99 for W-2 workers, or 2% ($2.99 minimum) for 1099 workers, and ACH out takes 3–5 days.
✅ Pros:
  • High limits tied to hours you’ve worked
  • No subscription
❌ Cons:
  • Only works if your employer is a Branch partner

12. Grant – Best for small first advances with optional membership

How it works: Grant advances $25–$500 (first-timers average about $66). Grant Plus is optional at $9.99/month. Express delivery costs $2 - $21, and standard ACH takes 1–3 business days. It isn’t available in CT, MD, NV, SC or WI. See our full comparison of apps like Grant.
✅ Pros:
  • No required membership
  • No credit check
❌ Cons:
  • Low starting amounts
  • Unavailable in five states

Dave alternatives compared

AppMax advanceMonthly feeInstant transfer feeCredit checkBest for
Dave$500Up to $55% or $5 per advance; +1.5% to external cardNo(Benchmark)
EarnIn$1,000/pay period ($1,500 Live Pay)$0$3.99 - $8.99NoHigher limits, no subscription
MoneyLion Instacash$1,000 with Spend + direct deposit$0$0.49 - $8.99NoMoneyLion banking customers
Chime MyPay$1,000$0$2 - $5NoChime members
Varo Advance$700$0Flat fee $1.60 - $100 per advanceNo hard pull30-day repayment
Current$750None statedShown in appNoNo-membership advances
Klover$750$0 - $9.99 (optional)$3.99 - $37.49No hard pullNo credit check
Cleo$500 with direct deposit$1.99 - $14.99$4.49 - $14.99Not statedBudgeting help
Brigit$500$8.99 - $15.99Free on PremiumNoOverdraft alerts
Tilt$500$8$1 - $8NoFlat subscription
Albert$1,000$0Per-draw fee, shown in appNo pullHighest instant limit
Branch$1,000/pay periodNone$2.99 - $4.99 to move outNot statedHourly workers (employer-dependent)
Grant$500$0 - $9.99 (optional)$2 - $21NoSmall first advances

Apps like Dave with no subscription

If the monthly fee is what bothers you, EarnIn, MoneyLion Instacash, Chime MyPay, Varo Advance, Current and Branch don’t require a membership. Albert’s Instant feature and Grant don’t require one either, though both sell optional plans. Klover’s plan is optional too, but check that you weren’t enrolled automatically. You still usually pay for instant delivery, so the cheapest option is to wait for the free standard transfer.

Apps like Dave that work with Chime

The simplest route is Chime’s own MyPay and SpotMe, since neither needs a third-party app. Support for Chime in other apps changes often; EarnIn, for example, currently supports Chime only for a small test group. See our guide to cash advance apps that work with Chime for the current list.

Apps like Dave with no credit check

None of the apps above runs a hard credit check. They look at your bank account history and deposits instead. Varo and Albert may use consumer-report data, but say this doesn’t affect your credit score. That also means these apps won’t help you build credit unless you use a separate credit-builder product.

How to choose an alternative to Dave

  • Price the advance, not just the app. A $5 fee on a $100 advance repaid in two weeks costs about as much as a loan with an APR of roughly 130%. Free standard transfers and no-subscription apps are cheapest.
  • Check bank compatibility first. Several apps require their own account (Dave, Varo, Albert, MoneyLion for the top limit), don’t count Cash App or P2P deposits, or don’t support your neobank.
  • Match repayment to your payday. Most apps pull repayment on your next payday. Varo gives 30 days.
  • Avoid stacking apps. Borrowing from several apps at once can leave most of your paycheck gone before it arrives.

Need fewer advances? Plan around your paycheck

A cash advance fixes one short gap. If you’re borrowing against most paychecks, the longer-term fix is seeing what’s coming before you run short. SuperMoney: Budgeting AI, our own app, links your bank and credit accounts, sorts your spending, tracks your credit score and can put savings and bill payments on autopilot. It doesn’t offer cash advances. It’s free to download, with optional paid plans ($19.99 a month or $149.99 a year).
SuperMoney owns and operates this app.

FAQs

What app is most similar to Dave?

EarnIn and MoneyLion Instacash are the closest matches: small, no-credit-check advances repaid from your next paycheck. EarnIn has no subscription and higher limits. MoneyLion adds banking and can go up to $1,000.

What app is better than Dave?

It depends on what you want to fix. For lower costs, EarnIn, Chime MyPay and Varo have no monthly fee. For a bigger advance, EarnIn ($1,000 per pay period), MoneyLion ($1,000) and Albert ($1,000) all top Dave’s $500.

What app will give me $200 instantly?

Several apps can advance $200 or more, but first-time limits are often lower. Klover averages about $170, Grant’s first advances average about $66, and Chime MyPay typically starts at $40–$100. Instant delivery usually costs a fee; free transfers take 1–3 days.

What app lets you borrow money immediately?

Most apps here can deliver within minutes if you pay an instant-transfer fee, or fee-free into their own bank account (Dave Checking, Varo, MoneyLion Spend, Albert Cash). Approval still depends on your deposit history.

Does Dave work with Cash App?

No. Dave says it doesn’t support Cash App, PayPal, Credit Karma or most prepaid cards. Klover and Current also don’t count Cash App deposits toward eligibility.

What apps are like Dave and Brigit?

EarnIn, Klover, Tilt, Cleo and MoneyLion all work similarly to Dave and Brigit: bank-data underwriting, no hard credit check, and repayment on payday. See our comparison of apps like Brigit for more.
SuperMoney may be compensated by some of the providers listed. This doesn’t change how we evaluate them. Terms are as of September 2026 and can change; check the provider’s site before you apply.

Key Takeaways

  • Dave’s ExtraCash costs the greater of $5 or 5% per advance, plus a membership of up to $5 a month, for advances of up to $500.
  • EarnIn, MoneyLion Instacash, Chime MyPay, Varo and Current don’t require a subscription.
  • EarnIn ($1,000), MoneyLion ($1,000) and Albert ($1,000) all go higher than Dave’s $500 maximum.
  • None of these apps runs a hard credit check, but most charge for instant delivery.
Andrew Latham avatar image

Andrew Latham

Andrew is the Content Director for SuperMoney, a Certified Financial Planner®, and a Certified Personal Finance Counselor. He loves to geek out on financial data and translate it into actionable insights everyone can understand. His work is often cited by major publications and institutions, such as Forbes, U.S. News, Fox Business, SFGate, Realtor, Deloitte, and Business Insider.

Share this post:

AddSuperMoneyas a preferred source on Google
Table of Contents

Apps Like Dave: 12 Cash Advance Apps Compared (2026) - SuperMoney